RESOLUTION HONORING THE 2019 WILLIAM H. RUFFNER MEDAL RECIPIENT W. HEYWOOD FRALIN, SR.

WHEREAS, Virginia Tech is very proud to recognize among its most esteemed friends Mr. W. Heywood Fralin, who has been a loyal and enthusiastic volunteer and supporter of the university; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Fralin has garnered professional prestige throughout his long and distinguished career in the law, and also skilled nursing care, as Chairman of Medical Facilities of America, the regional leader in the Commonwealth of Virginia and North Carolina providing skilled nursing and rehabilitation care, valuing the influence of Virginia Tech in his life with its emphasis on the ideals of leadership, loyalty, service and Ut Prosim – *That I Might Serve;* and

WHEREAS, Heywood Fralin has had an extensive tenure of service and continued engagement at Virginia Tech and throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia's educational realm, serving on the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors and the Virginia Tech Foundation Board of Directors, as well as the University of Virginia's Board of Visitors, and Chairman of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV); and

WHEREAS, Mr. Fralin was inducted into the William Preston Society in 2003 in recognition of his service, loyalty and volunteer leadership on the Board of Visitors and to Virginia Tech; and

WHEREAS, Heywood Fralin is an inspirational example of how a meaningful life is achieved not only through personal success, but also in service to others, consistently providing volunteer leadership, philanthropic support and legislative advocacy across the breadth of the university, and throughout the Commonwealth, most notably through his commitment to Virginia higher education and efforts that resulted in the passage of the 2008 bond issue providing over \$3 billion to improve facilities on college campuses; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Fralin has been and continues to be a relentless advocate for higher education, singularly focused on securing outcomes that strengthen the academic enterprise, championing the causes of student financial aid, research investments, infrastructure improvements, and policy enhancements while employing his influence to collaborate with political, civic, and business leaders to effect positive change; and

WHEREAS, Heywood Fralin has been described as a servant leader of the first-order, exhibiting a degree of sensibility, sensitivity, and humility that is unparalleled, demonstrated through his numerous board memberships throughout the Roanoke region, the New River Valley, and the Commonwealth of Virginia representing varying interests including higher education, health care, law, youth development, biotechnology, business, art, athletics and community revitalization, investing his personal time, talent and resources for the betterment of others;

NOW, THERFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that in recognition of Mr. Fralin's many years of leadership and notable service to the university and to his community, the Board of Visitors of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University confers upon W. Heywood Fralin, Sr. its highest award, the 2019 William H. Ruffner Medal.

RECOMMENDATION:

That the resolution conferring the 2019 William H. Ruffner Medal to W. Heywood Fralin, Sr. be approved.

April 1, 2019

RESOLUTION HONORING THE 2019 UNIVERSITY DISTINGUISHED ACHIEVEMENT AWARD RECIPIENT STEVEN M. MOLLENKOPF '92

WHEREAS, Mr. Steven M. Mollenkopf is a 1992 graduate of Virginia Tech with a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Mollenkopf has demonstrated the value of his Virginia Tech education, applying his skills globally as a highly respected and innovative engineer, being hailed as a visionary leader who exhibits outstanding foresight and resolve; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Mollenkopf has had a long, distinguished, and exemplary career that serves as a testament to his personal drive and skill as a pioneering executive with breakthrough contributions to mobile technology and in the development and implementation of multiple industry-leading innovations; and

WHEREAS, Steve Mollenkopf has made significant contributions to the world at large, sharing his knowledge in written form as a published author in the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and holds seven patents in areas such as power estimation and measurement, multi-standard transmitters, and wireless communication transceiver technology; and

WHEREAS, Steve Mollenkopf is the Chief Executive Officer of Qualcomm, Incorporated, and serves on its Board of Directors, overseeing the company's emergence as a dominant force in mobile technology, including computing, graphics and multimedia while overseeing Qualcomm's investment in technologies that propelled smartphones into the mainstream; and

WHEREAS, Steve Mollenkopf helped make Qualcomm the world's largest mobile chipset supplier and a global leader in LTE technology and spearheaded the company's largest acquisition of chipmaker Atheros, expanding Qualcomm's business far beyond smartphones, accelerating the adoption of the company's technologies and platforms in new segments; and

WHEREAS, through the vision and partnership of Steve Mollenkopf, a multi-year collaboration with Virginia Tech and Qualcomm was launched to create the Qualcomm Thinkabit Lab at the university's Falls Church campus in Northern Virginia to bring hands-on STEM learning to students and training to teachers to foster creativity, collaboration, and the critical skills necessary for the next generation in the STEM disciplines; and

WHEREAS, Steve Mollenkopf has been inducted into the Virginia Tech Academy of Engineering Excellence in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the profession;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that with great pride and in recognition of his professional accomplishments, service, leadership, and commitment to making the

world a better place in ways that bring honor to his profession and to his alma mater, the Board of Visitors of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University confers the University Distinguished Achievement Award for 2019 to Mr. Steven M. Mollenkopf.

RECOMMENDATION:

That the resolution conferring the 2019 University Distinguished Achievement Award to Mr. Steven M. Mollenkopf be approved.

April 1, 2019